Universal Indians - Nihil is now

Cover art

Universal Indians - Nihil is now


Joe McPhee - saxophones/pocket trumpet (US)

John Dikeman - saxophones (US/NL)

Jon Rune Strøm - double bass (NO)


Universal Indians is a trio comprised of Amsterdam-based, American saxophonist John Dikeman and the resourceful and powerful rhythm section of Norwegian bassist Jon Rune Strøm and drummer Tollef Østvang; both also manage Stone Floor Records. This trio presents its own definition of contemporary freely improvised jazz: muscular, passionate, raw and intense music created on the spot, with no distinct leader and with tight, immediate and supportive interplay. Although informed by formative free jazz artists such as pianist Cecil Taylor, saxophonists John Coltrane, Albert Ayler and Peter Brötzmann, they demonstrate clear, independent voices of their own.




Release year
Record label
Stone Floor Records